Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
An Angel at My Table
An Angel at My Table
Publicité
An Angel at My Table
Archives
9 juin 2006

Winter Treats

img_02601

Heart shaped self saucing puddings


Winter has finally kicked in. Temperatures are nosediving. I was trying to drink a glass of Bordeaux yesterday but my lounge was freezing. The wine was far too cold for the aromas to develop. Far too cold to be fully appreciated.

I miss warmth and I miss summer food. Times like that call for emergency comfort. To rise spirits up, nothing beats the warmth and cuddliness of chocolate cakes – especially when we’re talking heart-shaped gooey chocolate cakes.

I was offered a chocolate cookbook for Christmas this year. It has a recipe for self-saucing pudding but it put me off because it uses unhealthy amounts of butter, roughly 100 grams of butter for 20 grams of flour. That is what prevents it from cooking I guess.

I tried Bill Granger’s recipe instead. This is the first time I tried one of his recipes and I was not disappointed, I had the result I was hoping for; except for the white chocolate one. It was not self saucing at all but still delicious and terribly soft and chocolaty.

I baked my cakes for a little shorter than indicated in the recipe because my moulds are not tall. They are not very heart-shaped either...

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
J
These are so adorable!
A
hi! one question: recipe please???
C
It is very cold, rainy and windy here in Auckland. We definitaly need good chocolaty comfort!
I
I'm sorry it's cold where you are but I'm sure these adorable desserts made things better!
C
Thank you. I am sorry to admit that I ate them all. By myself!<br /> Please don't cry!<br /> <br /> I'll improve the white chocolate cake and post a proper recipe soon.
Publicité