Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
An Angel at My Table
An Angel at My Table
Publicité
An Angel at My Table
Archives
11 avril 2006

The big dive into winter



img_0278

Salmon raviolo and Rosé wine sauce 


Back again. Sorry for being a yoyo! My sudden disappearance is due to a series of unfortunate factors. First a new job, then the end of summer. Less light, shorter and colder days…… I – and it is very sad to admit – turn into a two-minute-noodle-cook. When trying to get my spirit and desire to cook and shoot back, I realise that my “mojo” was gone. My maori potato gnocchis turned sludgy, an attempt to layer roast banana and white chocolate looked as terrible as it tasted and my matcha sponge was somewhat flat and burnt.


I was tempted to give up. Fortunately, fiesting on “comfort food” (eg: chocolate bars and processed food) revealed unsatisfying and oh so fattening!!!

 
So well I’m back with low fat goodness! It’s also colourful to make up for the lack of joy around us.

 
I did not go as far as making the pasta dough myself. I used wonton sheets and glued them together with egg wash. It did not break when boiled. The filling is only salmon and fresh dill. The salmon had been lightly steamed and seasoned before being shredded.

 
To create the sauce I lightly cooked shallots and garlic, added Rose wine, reduced and put a tiny dash of cream. It helps keeping the sauce together, giving it a velvety texture. If I had cooked a white flesh fish, I would have used coconut cream in the sauce. Unfortunately, I find the strong taste of salmon does not combine well at all with coconut.


 

Rosé wine is very seldom used in cooking. Maybe there is a technical reason for not using it. It is a bit more bitter than white wine but it is not an overwhelmingly disturbing. It also gives a very pretty colour to the sauce.

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
M
This looks quite light and lovely to me. I am mostly vegetarian but do occasionally eat fish, especially when it's locally caught. Here in northern California, salmon fits the bill! Congratulations on a fine food blog...<br /> <br /> http://mindycooks.blogspot.com
C
Thanks and Merci<br /> <br /> Sher: Yes, job is good. It is food related and I often get samples to try!<br /> Do you freeze you wonton pastry? I did and now it breaks!<br /> <br /> Barbara: Thanks. It looks good but I cannot help thinking it lacks cream and cheese!<br /> <br /> Yvonne: New Zealand winters are not as cold as Canadian winters! I envy you.... SPRING!<br /> <br /> Béa: Oui, une sauce rose qui n'ai pas le gout de fraise, c'est plutot surprenant.<br /> <br /> Cath: The fact is that I never cooked salmon with alcohol before. It looks good and tastes.... interesting<br /> <br /> Ange: Welcome! That's right, comfort food are very tempting when winter is back. I try to resist eating fat and cook visually comforting food instead. Tagine sounds good, though, nice hearty lamb and apricots!
A
Well this sounds delicious! I myself have been inspired by the onset of cold weather in Melbourne as it has been a nice change of menu from my usual light summer food, have enjoyed some slow cooking, roasts, tagines, soups etc & have a list a mile long to get through this winter which will of course post as I go. Dont let the Winter bluses get to you!
E
what an interesting combination, and quite a good wine pairing when you think about, I mean I would drink rose wine with salmon (since it is not really a red or white meat), so why not cook with the same combination - great idea!
T
Superbe ton plat. Et cette couleur rose est adorable! Vive le retour a la cuisine!
Publicité