Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
An Angel at My Table
An Angel at My Table
Publicité
An Angel at My Table
Archives
20 avril 2006

La Gastronomie Française!

It seems to be ranking season in the food industry. Last week, Metro magazine published the list of Auckland’s best restaurants. “The French Café” was elected overall winner. This restaurant has won the prize for the 3rd year in a row.

 

Early this week, I came across "The World’s Best Restaurants 2006”. The number of Spanish Restaurants listed is impressive.
It is rather hard to comprehend the voting process: No Asian, South American or African (excepted SA) restaurants are listed. Does it mean they are not assessed?

 

French Chefs’ pride is hurt. For too long, they took for granted the fact that they would always be the Best Chefs in the World. They did not promote themselves enough. It is important to note that French cuisine is not declining, though. Young chefs have inherited a high level of skills from their predecessors. They also have the envy to move forward, to be more pro-active.
I read in a French newspaper that experienced chefs such as Alain Ducasse initiated contacts with young talented chefs to help them promote themselves better. French chefs also publish articles in foreign newspapers and they travel and learn foreign cooking techniques.

 

They acknowledge foreign talent of course but their pride make them go forward. It is very sane competition, other sectors of French industry should learn from it.

 

I cannot wait to read next year’s ‘World’s Best Restaurants”.

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
C
Barbara: I agree, food is very subjective. I am not too keen on Spanish food myself. Maybe they assess creativity and technique<br /> Have you ever dinner at 'French Café'?<br /> <br /> Sher: You're lucky. The French laundry has been in the top 10 for years. Do you have to book years in advance to go there?
S
I've only eaten in one of the restaurants on the list--The French Laundry. I've visited there 3 times and each time it was the best meal I've ever had in a restaurant. I'd love to try some of the others on the list.
B
I was surprised at how many Spanish restaurants were listed. I wasn't that impressed with the food when I was there.
Publicité