Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
An Angel at My Table
An Angel at My Table
Publicité
An Angel at My Table
Archives
21 mars 2006

A sweet comeback

img_0220     img_0221
Grapefruit Tarragon Millefeuille


First: Sorry for having been away for so long. 2006 brought some happy and unexpected twists and turns. All in all I have not been able to log on internet very often.

The above is my miserable attempt to make a 'Grapefruit-Tarragon millfeuille' as per Su Good Eats recipe. I learnt a valuable lesson, though: When it comes to assembling millefeuille, the thiner the layers the better. Mine were completely oversized and make my cake look like a very ugly "Tower of Pisa". A very ugly cake but yum! The quirky sounding association of tarragon, grapefruit and white chocolate turns out to be truly delicious.
A Pavlovian reflex causes me to associate tarragon to "bearnaise sauce" ONLY. Sweet Tarragon sound like a culinary blaspheme! Interestingly enough, the somewhat sour flavour of the grapefruit reminds of the sourness of 'Bearnaise" and balances tarragon very well. White chocolate brings a creamy sweetness to the cake. It is sumptuous.

The base of shortpastry is pleasant but not necessary. My next attempt will exclude it and include thiner layers of white chocolate. It will be crunchy and quickly melt in mouth.

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
C
Thank you so much for all you nice comments!<br /> <br /> Merci Fabienne<br /> <br /> I promise to be around a lot more from now.
F
Looks very delicious. Love the grapefruit!
B
Welcome back. I've missed you.
S
when u do the choc give me a hoot<br /> welcome back<br /> but am off to france next week.
F
Waou, this recipe is fantastic ....
Publicité