Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
An Angel at My Table
An Angel at My Table
Publicité
An Angel at My Table
Archives
12 décembre 2006

I love your whey

IMG_0612
Homemade quark


About two weeks ago I bought a tub of quark from Nosh, nice farmstyle curd. It was good but so compact it was impossible to eat it by itself. As a kid in France, I grew up on "petits Suisses", very small portions of quark wrapped in paper. Here in New Zealand I didn't manage to find quite the right consistency, it's either too firm or too runny. I therefore decided to make my own!
Making quark is not difficult it just takes a little bit of take because the mixture has to stand to allow curd and whey to separate.

I used a recipe from a French recipe book I have at home using both milk and buttermilk. Some recipes call for buttermilk only and I will try them too, to find out if there is a difference in texture.

-1 litre whole milk
-1 litre cultured buttermilk

Combine both in an oven proof dish and let stand 48 hours at room temperature.

IMG_0574
It looks quite revolting in its early stage

Place into a cool oven - 50 degrees max - for 90 minutes. You will see the green whey separate from the curd.
Sterilise a cheese cloth in hot water and use it to line a sieve. Pour the curd, tie the cheesecloth and leave to hang for a good hour, the more it drains, the firmer the quark will be.
I got completely off tracked on Saturday afternoon and forgot about my quark. It drained for far too long so it was super compact when I came back. The good thing about it is that you can stir in a little whey to make it smoother again.

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
C
Oh yes, you should try, it's very easy! I will also try another recipe and I'll let you know what's best<br /> Have a good holiday!
B
I'm looking forward to trying this. I don't have time before I go away on Saturday but certainly when I get back.
Publicité