Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
An Angel at My Table
An Angel at My Table
Publicité
An Angel at My Table
Archives
14 février 2006

Ripe and bright

"We should look for someone to eat and drink with before looking for something to eat and drink"  Epicurus

img_0188
Mango curry snapper

Some time ago, I took part in a "food group" to taste a new range of sauces. My mission was to cook their mango curry in every single way I could think of. I was handed a tall bottle containing a beautiful bright orange sauce. My hopes were high but the poor industrially processed sauce fell short of expectations: it was a plain dull and sour kind of ketchupy magma. What a disappointment!

Following the kiwi saying "do it yourself", I decided to make my own Mango curry. It includes an extra dose of grated ginger because hey, it's Valentine's day.


Ingredients - for 2

2 ripe mangoes
2 snapper fillets
1 tsp grated ginger ( may be ++)
1 tsp tumeric
1 tsp cumin
1 clove garlic, crushed
1 red chili
1/2 red onion
1/2 cup coconut milk
1 tbsp yogurt
Chopped coriander or spring onions to garnish

Steam fish.
Combine all spices and chili and saute in a frying pan until fragrant, then add onion and garlic and cook until soft. In the meantime, blend mango dice with a little water.

Add to coconut milk to spice mixture when onion is soft, simmer for a few minutes to allow the flavours to combine and reduce the heat. Gently add mango coulis and stir for 1 minute, turn off the heat and add the yogurt, stir well and pour on top of fish.

Not cooking the mango is the way to go, if cooked for too long, it will lose its delicate aroma.

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
S
MMMM--that looks wonderful. I love all those ingredients, so that is one I want to try. Thanks for that.
S
Très jolie photo, ça donne envie d'y goûter !
C
Clare: Your mango looks bright orange, it's so beautiful. Mango works very well with fish<br /> <br /> Ivonne: thank you, I hope you had a happy Valentine too<br /> <br /> Ilva: I thought about this sauce for maybe ravioli, maybe a mango flavoured pasta dough filled in with fish and mango pulp? I could work well with chicken and pork too.<br /> <br /> Fiordizucca: let me know if you try, I'm quite intrigued to know how it will turn out. oh avocado! I have a recipe somewhere and I need to try it out: cold avocado soup with apple and fennel emulsion.<br /> <br /> Sha: these sauces looked very appealing and marketted as organic, made from fresh ingredients, delicatessen type of sauce blabla. Disappointting, indeed.<br /> If you cannot find mango, maybe you could swap for apricot.. well not quite the same, sorry but still better than canned mangoes :(
S
i would never buy these pre made sauces...<br /> better slave in the kitchen and do it.<br /> <br /> where is the riz? hmmm<br /> I have not my fish this week yet... better check my fishmonger tomorrow and got to dash to asian store if mangoes arrive this week.... ah life in the Med and wishing for something asian...
A
tu me donnes très envie avec cette recette et la photo, superbe
Publicité