Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
An Angel at My Table
An Angel at My Table
Publicité
An Angel at My Table
Archives
9 février 2006

Minimalist delicacy

img_01552
Salmon Gravlax and honeydew melon


Now this is one fancy mouthful.  Contrasting bright colours, delicate flavours, original combination: My idea of cooking. I must have eaten half of my salad while I was photoshooting.
Graxlax originates from Scandinavia, the salmon is cured in brine for a least two days, no cooking is required. I recently read that freezing the salmon for at least a week prior to curing it is required as parasite may be present in the flesh.

 

Although the basic recipe only uses kosher salt, dill (whole bunches of delicious fresh dill) and sugar, a few ingredients may be added. I added a teaspoon of Vodka to mine. I love cooking with alcohol, so far I tried Gravlax and sherry, rum and vodka (Unflavoured vodka but I could try with Raspberry Vodka. Lemon Vodka sounds appealing too). What an Iconoclast!

 

Melon and salmon colours as well as textures combine well. Cured salmon develops strong flavours and it is not as oily as smoked salmon. The fat "melts" and spreads through the flesh giving it quite a consistent texture. The lineage is very well defined and the colour is so vivid, a magnificient piece of edible Art.

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
G
Ilva: oh that's right, you're Swedish. I hope you're not shocked to read I add all types of liquors to my brine!<br /> <br /> Sher: Go ahead!! Gravlax is so delicious, yet SO easy to make.<br /> <br /> EatzyCath: I love sweet and savoury combinations, hopefully you will too. Let me know what you think if you try.
E
such an interesting combination, thanks so much for the great idea!
S
The color of the melon contrasted against the gravlax is beautiful!!!! I've always wanted to make my own gravlax and you have motivated me to do so.
I
My mother used to make the best gravlax there was! Homemade one is soooo much nicer than the one you buy, much more texture to it!
G
What a traveller you are! <br /> Hmmmm, I'll go anywhere for Nutella.
Publicité