Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
An Angel at My Table
An Angel at My Table
Publicité
An Angel at My Table
Archives
23 janvier 2006

Delicious rainbow

img_00621

While at the beach yesterday, I suddenly came up with an original idea: Snapper, raspberries, cream on a cushion of braised leaks. I was peacefully reading my book (a novel, not a cookbook), lying in the sun, I had lunch not so long before and out of the blue, I visualed this dish. How bizarre!

Back at home, I gathered the ingredients but figured out leaks and raspberries would not work, so I replaced the leaks with Kumara. This looks everything like a dessert, but it's savoury and mind you, the flavours really work together. My raspberries were not too sweet, even on a bitter side and they balanced very well the hearty sweetness of the kumaras. I did not use any herb or spice, I was not sure what would match this unusual - yet delicious - combination of flavours.
.
After tasting my new creation I came up to the conclusion that the dish does not need any extra flavouring. It's a very well balanced dish. I very much regretted I had no one to share it with.

Here is a rough recipe:

-1 big red kumara
-1 small potato
-1 snapper fillet
-5 raspberries+1 to garnish
-Half a lemon
-A spoon of milk
Salt and pepper to taste

Boil kumara and potato, when done mash roughly leaving big chunks of kumara. Add milk and stir with a spoon.
Steam fish
Puree raspberries and sieve.

Mould the lumpy mash in a small ramequin. Place fish on top, pour the equivalent of 2 teaspoons of freshly squeezed lemon juice on the fish and drizzle raspberry coulis.

Garmish with a slice of lemon and a raspberry.

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
B
After read blog topic's related post now I feel my research is almost completed. happy to see that.Thanks to share this brilliant matter.
Publicité